Apple iPad (9th Generation)

Apple iPad (9th Generation)

iPadOS 17

Restore factory default settings

Read help info

If your tablet gets slow or doesn't work as it usually does, it may help to restore the factory default settings. All settings and configurations you've made on your tablet are deleted.

Step 1 of 12

1. Find "Transfer or Reset iPad"

Press Settings.

Step 2 of 12

1. Find "Transfer or Reset iPad"

Press General.

Step 3 of 12

1. Find "Transfer or Reset iPad"

Press Transfer or Reset iPad.

Step 4 of 12

2. Restore settings only

Press Reset.

If you choose to restore settings only, all tablet settings are restored but contacts, audio files, videos and appointments will not be deleted.
Step 5 of 12

2. Restore settings only

Press Reset All Settings.

If you choose to restore settings only, all tablet settings are restored but contacts, audio files, videos and appointments will not be deleted.
Step 6 of 12

2. Restore settings only

Press Reset.

If you choose to restore settings only, all tablet settings are restored but contacts, audio files, videos and appointments will not be deleted.
Step 7 of 12

2. Restore settings only

Press Reset. Wait a moment while the factory default settings are restored. Follow the instructions on the screen to set up your tablet and prepare it for use.

If you choose to restore settings only, all tablet settings are restored but contacts, audio files, videos and appointments will not be deleted.
Step 8 of 12

3. Restore settings and data

Press Erase All Content and Settings.

If you choose to restore settings and data, settings, contacts, audio files, videos and appointments are deleted. When you've restored settings and data, you need to activate your tablet.
Step 9 of 12

3. Restore settings and data

Press Continue.

If you choose to restore settings and data, settings, contacts, audio files, videos and appointments are deleted. When you've restored settings and data, you need to activate your tablet.
Step 10 of 12

3. Restore settings and data

Press the required setting.

If you choose to restore settings and data, settings, contacts, audio files, videos and appointments are deleted. When you've restored settings and data, you need to activate your tablet.
Step 11 of 12

3. Restore settings and data

Press Turn Off.

If you choose to restore settings and data, settings, contacts, audio files, videos and appointments are deleted. When you've restored settings and data, you need to activate your tablet.
Step 12 of 12

3. Restore settings and data

Key in the password for your Apple ID and press Erase iPad. Wait a moment while the factory default settings are restored. Follow the instructions on the screen to set up your tablet and prepare it for use.

If you choose to restore settings and data, settings, contacts, audio files, videos and appointments are deleted. When you've restored settings and data, you need to activate your tablet.

1. Find "Transfer or Reset iPad"

Press Settings.
Press General.
Press Transfer or Reset iPad.

2. Restore settings only

Press Reset.
If you choose to restore settings only, all tablet settings are restored but contacts, audio files, videos and appointments will not be deleted.
Press Reset All Settings.
If you choose to restore settings only, all tablet settings are restored but contacts, audio files, videos and appointments will not be deleted.
Press Reset.
If you choose to restore settings only, all tablet settings are restored but contacts, audio files, videos and appointments will not be deleted.
Press Reset. Wait a moment while the factory default settings are restored. Follow the instructions on the screen to set up your tablet and prepare it for use.
If you choose to restore settings only, all tablet settings are restored but contacts, audio files, videos and appointments will not be deleted.

3. Restore settings and data

Press Erase All Content and Settings.
If you choose to restore settings and data, settings, contacts, audio files, videos and appointments are deleted. When you've restored settings and data, you need to activate your tablet.
Press Continue.
If you choose to restore settings and data, settings, contacts, audio files, videos and appointments are deleted. When you've restored settings and data, you need to activate your tablet.
Press the required setting.
If you choose to restore settings and data, settings, contacts, audio files, videos and appointments are deleted. When you've restored settings and data, you need to activate your tablet.
Press Turn Off.
If you choose to restore settings and data, settings, contacts, audio files, videos and appointments are deleted. When you've restored settings and data, you need to activate your tablet.
Key in the password for your Apple ID and press Erase iPad. Wait a moment while the factory default settings are restored. Follow the instructions on the screen to set up your tablet and prepare it for use.
If you choose to restore settings and data, settings, contacts, audio files, videos and appointments are deleted. When you've restored settings and data, you need to activate your tablet.

Get information on...

Or select...

Another device

Customer Impacting Events

Mobile ›
Excellent Very Good Good Fair Low No Connection
Landline & Broadband ›
Excellent Very Good Good Fair Low No Connection
main_icn_Play_arrow main_icn_Chevron_down main_icn_Chevron_right main_icn_Chevron_left main_icn_Chevron_up

Internet Explorer Not Supported

Please note that we do not support Internet Explorer. For optimal browsing we recommend Chrome, Safari, or Firefox.